History of Gongju

Baekje Kingdom

  • 475 : King Moonju, the 22nd king of Baekje, moved its capital from Wirye to Ungjin.
  • 538 : King Seong, the 26th king, moved the capital to Sabi.

Silla Kingdom

  • 686 : King Shinmun changed its name from Ungjin-eup to Ungcheon-ju, and set up an administrative agency.
  • 757 : King Gyeongdeok renamed it Ungju.

Goryeo Dynasty

  • 940 : King Taejo renamed it Gongju and set up an administrative agency.
  • 983 : King Seongjong established Gongju Mok.

Joseon Dynasty

  • 1895 : Chungcheong-do Province was divided into Gongju, Hongju and Chungju. Gongju-bu (district) supervised 27 counties, and became the largest among 23 districts along with Pyongyang.
  • 1896 : The district system was cancelled, and Chungcheong-do was split into Chungcheongbuk-do and Chungcheongnam-do After Hongju District and Gongju District were combined, Gongju became the center of Chungcheongnam-do (South), supervising 37 counties.

Modern Gongju

  • 1932 : The Chungcheongnam-do provincial government office moved to Daejeon
  • 1986 : Gongju-eup was elevated to a city status, and Gongju-si was divided into Gongju-si and Gongju-gun
  • 1995 : Gongju-si and Gongju-gun were merged to become the present-day Gongju-si