Educational System of Korea

Educational System of Korea

  • Overview of the Educational System of Korea

    The educational system of Korea consists of six grades of primary school, three grades of middle school, three years of high school and four years of university (or two years of college). The six-year curriculum of primary schools and the three-year curriculum of middle schools are operated as mandatory education, and tuition is free during this period.

  • Operation of the Educational System

    A school year is divided into two semesters. After the spring semester ends, there is about a month of summer vacation. After the fall semester ends, there are two months of winter vacation and a year-end holiday before the new academic year begins. The spring semester begins at the end of February or in early March, and the fall semester begins at the end of August or in early September.

*Source : Danuri (The multicultural family support portal site)